Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend its money on other public services instead of arts. with this statement?

It is argued that investments in arts and music has been just a wasting of resources, and the authorities should spend this money on public sectors. I do not quite agree with this view. In my opinion, the officials should allocate appropriate funding for both services. On the one hand, there are certainly ample reasons why people want the government to spend more money on public services. First and foremost, it improves the quality of life. For example, when the funds are utilized to build colleges and universities, it will help people to gain education and employment. Educated citizens are the biggest asset of any nation and hence in my opinion, providing better educational facilities should be the priority of any national government. Last but not least, with sufficient funding, the authorities can support other sectors like health, infrastructure and transport. All of these are crucial for the development of a nation and need sufficient funding. On the other hand, there are many benefits if the officials support the arts. The plus point of preserving music and theatre is that it will help us conserve our national identity. As we all know arts and culture are interrelated, so by allocating some funds to the arts we can save our cultural uniqueness. Moreover, if the authorities stop supporting the music and theatre, they will see a great loss in terms of tourism. Most tourists visit a country to see their culture, and if travellers find nothing extraordinary about a culture, they are less likely to return. In conclusion, the government should use the balanced approach of supporting both public utilities and arts because both are important for a country to flourish.