Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

There is no doubt that parenting is considered to be very difficult. While some believe kids should be disciplined for behaving poorly, I agree that encouraging good behaviour is always the better option. Firstly, if we discipline children on mistakes, they are less likely to repeat it. This is mainly because they feel threatened by the punishment. For instance, a student who has not completed their assignment are generally given an extra lesson to make them understand its importance. In contrast, If we do not punish them, they feel it is okay to make mistakes. Consequently, we end up with ill-mannered adults, and these problems intensify with time. However, I believe rewarding is much better than punishing. This brings a sense of motivation in children. As a result, they repeat this good habit for reward and develop a lifelong commitment to it. For example, when parents give their child a treat for household chores, they tend to continue it weekly. Additionally, if we ignore them after any positive activity, they will be disheartened and demoralized for the future. To conclude, although in few cases punishment is the only option to teach kids a lesson, I feel, rewards and encouragement are much more efficient in order to prepare the child for the future.