Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Tourists visit places like the Sahara desert or the Antarctic for recreational purposes. For example, during vacations, to relieve stress, for family picnics and for so many other reasons. On one hand, when tourists visit such places, they would gain more experience in tourism and have more geographical knowledge which would serve as a plus to them. They would also have hands-on experience on how to tackle environments with harsh climate conditions and devise more ways to survive in such situations and not feel insecure, should anything go wrong at any point in time, especially if they feel trapped or unsafe. On the other hand, dehydration and lack of contact with the society is a major disadvantage of visiting the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. Tourists that visit these places occasionally get stuck there. In most cases, there would be starvation which would automatically bring about dehydration because of the lack of water in the deserts. More so, there is lack of human contact with others in a desert and it may make the occupants feel lonely, especially if he or she is used to socializing with others. In some places such as Africa, with Nigeria as a case study, visiting a desert may be solely at one’s own risk because the government does not hold itself responsible for the well-being of citizens. Those that successfully came out of the desert visit claimed to have enjoyed their short stay there, though the government did not have a hand in their safety. In Nigeria, there have also been some occasions in which people, especially children, get lost or harmed by wild animals in the forests and deserts. To conclude, touring on these sites is not a debauched idea but when on these kind of trips, it is important to ensure the security is tight, have a tour guide, stay with your family and fellow tourists and generally watch out for your safety and the safety of others.