Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30s. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this trend?

Nowadays, the cost of living is soaring to a great extent. As a result, a majority of young individuals are living with their parents into their 30s without much option. I believe there are more drawbacks than benefits to this trend. Both will be discussed in this essay. It is true that there are numerous advantages for both the children and parents living together. The main one is finances. Children can save more money and worry less about paying their rent when they live under one roof with their parents and not end up in a crippling debt. In Bangalore, for instance, renting a house require a huge amount of money, which cannot be affordable to everyone. Besides that, being a part of the joint family comes with the privilege of having family member’s support in everything. Children can take care of their parents when they are sick and could possibly help them with the household chores. This way, the bond between them strengthens and they would be having less worries about life. Clearly, living with parents would be beneficial in saving money and spending quality time with them. However, there are more limitations to this approach as the children will lack privacy and independence. This is because, parents expect to know the whereabouts of their children, which results in invading their privacy unknowingly. The offspring are expected to inform their parents where they are going could be considered as an illustration. Moreover, there is a possibility that children would feel restricted when they live with their parents. Because, in few families, the children are not allowed to wear certain clothes when they stay with their elders. This halts their freedom and causes disturbances in the family. In short, children will not have their freedom and privacy when they live with their parents. In conclusion, although living with the parents, children can have savings and take care of them, they will not have any privacy or freedom.