Some people are becoming more interested in family history research Others argue we should focus on present and future generation

The reasons for studying a foreign language are questionable. Some, think it is needed only to travel or get a job abroad. Meanwhile, I am of the opinion that there are other aspects of learning a new language that can be advantageous for people all around the world. In this essay I will discuss both of these views. Those who support studying for the only reason of travelling and working overseas argue that this is essential to communicate in all practical aspects of life and it is also required to apply for a job. For instance, French physician living and working in England has to know English to communicate not only with local patients and nurses, but also to rent an apartment and to buy food at the grocery store. Furthermore, it is said, that there are not other reasons to learn languages as, for instance, if this doctor did not leave France ever he would not have the need to study further languages than its own. Conversely, others think there are more motives to learn a new language, as to keep up with the advances in our professions and grow in our careers. For example, a great amount of medical guidelines, scientific research articles and newspapers are written in a different language than ours. Another reason is to make new friends online. For example, there are some particular social media platforms which are only in English, so whoever wants to connect through them has to know how to communicate in this language. In conclusion, whereas for many the two only reasons to learn a foreign language are working and visiting abroad, I believe it is in addition needed to keep up-to-date at work and to make new relationship through the internet. Thus, languages should be taught in every school, university and in job offices as part of the regular program to improve people's professional and social skills.