Some people are becoming more interested in family history research. Others argue we should focus on the present and future generation.

Mankind is connected to each other in the form of a chain of relationships dated back centuries ago. It is a well-established fact in various societies that the grand ancestors of all human being are Adam and Eve. Some people are curious to discover their family tree while others believe that one should concentrate on their current and coming generations. This essay will analyse both views and will present an opinion in the conclusion. The human being has always remained anxious in discovering their true identity and are always keen in finding out where they belong to and who were their ancestors. Researching family unit facilitate people to understand how they are connected to others. People feel proud when they discover that their forefather's achievements and sacrifices are still admired by societies. Moreover, in some communities, a family is considered respectable and credible if they have a strong family background and notable history. For instance, in some Asian countries, families ask for the relationship tree of each other before they decide to finalise the marriage. On the contrary, few people believe that our present is more critical than our past and one should devote his time and efforts on future generations rather than digging the past. Proponents of this view point say that researching family history might reveal some facts that can be embarrassing for our current generation. For instance, children will feel uncomfortable and distracted if they discover that one of their ancestors was not patriotic or committed several crimes based on religious ethnicity. They further say that exploring family history would not do any good as that era cannot be changed and one should concentrate on raising respectable manners and etiquette in our generations to make them a better member of a society. To recapitulate, the aforementioned provides plausible arguments in favour of both views. However, in my opinion researching family relations assist people to track their origin, achievement of their ancestors and so on, which can soothe and comfort their hearts.