Some people say that talent is the most important factor for being an expert in a field while others say that motivation is the key to that. If you want to become an expert in a certain field, do you need to have more talent or more motivation?

While growing up, we've always heard tales about successful people; Ludwig Van Beethoven, Albert Einstein, William Shakespeare, and even president Lincoln. In regards of the virtues of a champion, I stand side-by-side with Muhammad Ali. I think that in order to be revered as an expert in your field, you need to set yourself apart from everyone else who are also trying to reach that goal. As Muhammad Ali put it, you need to be “a little better”- with more stamina, better speed, and a stronger will. Some people might have talent, but one thing that is imperative for a champion to have is motivation. People are more motivated to be successful in a field they like. When people have certain hobbies or jobs they like, they will not work on them out of obligation or with extraordinary goals in mind. They simply do those activities because they are entertaining or interesting; they are motivated. A friend of mine has an experience just like this one. Wilson has been obsessed with the piano since he was a child. Playing makes him happy and he wants to make a living out of it. Hence, he practices all the time- because he likes it anyway- and as a result, he was accepted to Juilliard on a merit scholarship. Another reason why motivation is so important is because people do not decide to become experts on a whim. Determination and a strong purpose are required. People try, work, and think harder to achieve something when they have motives to do so. This applies to the newly-elected president of Indonesia, President Joko Widodo; having grown up as the son of a poor carpenter, President Joko Widodo- better known as Jokowi- wants to make a change. Therefore, his will to make Indonesia a better country caused him to delve into politics. In fact, he becomes the president who caters to the needs of citizens living in poverty. To conclude, the one special that would make you different from everyone else is your motivation. When you are motivated, you will try, work, and think harder than others in order to achieve expertise in your field. After all, people with talent but no motivation will not succeed. They either choose not to pursue a career in the field or they are too lazy for their talent to be of use. Successful people don’t become who they are because they have more talent, but because they try harder and have more reason to succeed than everyone else.