Some parents think that advertisements are misleading for children, while advertisers claim they provide knowledge. Give your opinion.

The role of advertisements to promote some products is really important. While advertisers are confident that they not only promote products but also provide knowledge for people at the same time, some parents argue that advertisements can mislead their children. In this essay, I shall give my opinion on why I believe advertisements are not informative and parents’ concern is true. To begin with, as it is widely known, the main reason for products are being advertised is to enhance product sales. Advertisers only focus on audiences’ emotions to make a trend regarding the must-have items. For example, advertisements cannot be considered as informative sources as they do not give objective reviews and list detailed features of the products. Advertisers merely spotlight the advantage and disregard the disadvantage of owning those products. Hence, I believe advertisements do not provide knowledge for people because knowledge should be neutral and informative. Second, as advertisements make social trends, they make it hard for children to decide whether the advertised products are necessary or just a temporary trend. For example, children can lose their self-confidence if they do not follow the trend of having new toys or gadgets because everyone around them has those items. This phenomenon can mislead children to value themselves based on what they have. Although, in fact they do not need those items. In conclusion, in my opinion, advertisements are only focusing on audiences’ emotions to purchase the products without giving objective reviews. They can also make a trend regarding the usage of those advertised products which can make children feel worthless if they do not own them.