Many people say that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects equally. Others, however, believe that students should spend more time on subjects they like, or are good at.

Nowadays, several schools allow students to choose subjects that they like or are good at. Some people agree with this new curriculum while others argue that adolescents should equally knowledgeable on all school subjects. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and provide my personal opinion on why I believe students should focus on certain subjects. On one hand, it is mentioned in some scientific journals that to be able to master something, someone has to invest the minimum of 6 hours daily for practicing on that certain thing for at least 1, 000 days. Hence, people have no time to master several different things at the same time. For example, it is never mentioned that a well-known musician become a professional athlete as well. However, mastering only specific things has a disadvantage. For example, art students have to know at least basic maths as it is inevitably necessary in daily life. Adolescent cannot disregard some subjects that can help them with facing unpredictable future. On the other hand, it is almost impossible for someone to concentrate on all school subjects equally. As it is mentioned above that teenagers have to focus on learning a specific thing to be able to master it, unless they will end up being average. Besides, our brain is not designed to do multi-tasking as it is widely known. However, having sufficient knowledge on all subjects on all subjects is necessary to face uncertain future. For example, in 90s era, parents labelled children who spent hours in front of computer screens as lazy dwellers. It turns out, IT skills are necessary in this modern era. In conclusion, I believe that focusing on certain subjects helps adolescents to reach their goal faster. However, moderate level of knowledge regarding other school subjects is necessary for them as a safety net for facing unpredictable future.