It is suggested that everyone should have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages? ”

Some people believe that each household should have possession of domestic gadgets such as a car, a TV, and a refrigerator. Although this personal belonging can bring convenience to the owners to some extent, I strongly support that this evolution does more harm than good. On the one hand, people can reap a huge benefit from these external materials. First, promoting the national economy and society is one of its main contributions. The more demands to possess these products are, the bigger the manufacturing process expands, providing more job prospects to the unemployed. This then decreases the high rate of jobless, implementing the workforce to contribute to mass manufacture. Second, the increasing consumption forces producer to plan competitive pricing. More specifically, the prices of products will decrease, allowing the low-paid workers to afford these appliances and enjoy the comfort of life. On the other hand, these trends will exert a detrimental impact on the environment and changing the view of people. There is a likelihood that the environment will be polluted as a result of releasing the wages and exhaust fume from factories and exploiting the natural sources for material. Moreover, people tend to become consumerism which associates the possession of newly-launched items with happiness. This leads to a greedy and jealous of others which then increases the gap between the have and have not. In conclusion, although this tren can provide an economic incentive, I believe its demerits outweigh perks. It is highly recommended that each individual should think twice when purchasing products.