Some parents think it is good to give their children mobile phones, while others disagree.

In this essay I will discuss both views regarding whether or not it is good for parents to give their children mobile phones. I will furthermore express my opinion and give explanations. To begin with, while mobile phones are necessary in this day and age, they may obstruct other daily activities. In my opinion I strongly agree that parents should give their children mobile phones. Firstly, in a society heavily reliant on technology, phones have become somewhat of a necessity nowadays. For example, parents may rely on phones to ensure the safety of their offspring. Moreover emergency services and many other services function mainly through digital technology and thus not having a phone may be problematic. Subsequently a child may find it difficult to obtain assistance if required. In addition, the phones are also looked at as a social necessity. For instance, children without phones may appear unpopular or get bullied. Therefore having a phone can be argued to be a must. In my opinion, I strongly agree that children should have phones, . In contrast, others may argue that mobile phones may obstruct other valued activities. To illustrate this, an example would be a child spending many hours on their phones as opposed to working out. Therefore this means that the child may suffer in other aspects and as a result achieve poor results. Also education may be reduced as well as some outdoor activities. So while phones are useful for some things they may actually be detrimental. I would argue, however that parents should control the usage hours of mobile phones by their children. In conclusion, phones are needed for many services, but may lead to other consequences. It is clear, however, that even though there are valid arguments as to where or not parents should give their children mobile phones, that their monitored use is beneficial. It is recommended that parents give their children mobile phones.