Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Freedom of speech is crucial in modern society. This fundamental right has been adopted since 1948 and it is the core of democracy. Therefore freedom of speech empowers people, allow them to raise their voice, express their concerns and criticise the laws. This is the only way people can govern a nation. Freedom is the fragrance of a beautiful and welfare society. right of conversation is important and it is linked to prosperity. At the end of the day prosperity comes from new ideas, people must be free to share ideas and information that had once been controversial. However, some people feel that power of discussion has been lately misused for different interests. May it be defamatory, criticizing celebrities or even using insults against other people. Not choosing words carefully may result in harming a person, whereas some words can also incite a community or a religion. For example on the 7th of January 2015 two members of a terrorist group, forced their way into the offices of the a French satirical weekly newspaper in Paris. Armed with weapons, they killed 12 people and injured 11 others. This can result in fights amongst people, resulting in chaos and damage to property and lives. Hence, checks and balances need to be maintained as a part of autonomy of speech. Overall, according to my point of view, we cannot build a better society if we don’t take into account people opinion. That is why liberty of voice is essential in all civilised societies.