Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child for having a larger number of toys?

It is evitable for parents to spend huge amounts of money to buy playthings for their kids. There are certain advantages of buying toys for children, however, there are some disadvantages worth considering. In this essay, I will discuss the both sides of the argument. To begin with, the main purpose of buying games is for educational purpose. Parents buy many toys with different purposes, like one for teaching alphabets and another one for numbers and so on. Nowadays it is not uncommon for parents to buy multiple tablets and mobile phones for their toddlers to play with. The first advantage is that these games enable child to learn something like to learn words and sing tunes or even dance. Secondly, as kids are eager to learn they are able to grasp skills quickly. To exemplify, studies show that kids are able to speak words faster with interactive games than other kids who are learn the traditional way. On the flip side, the major drawback is that the children get so accustomed to these games they miss out on playing traditional games outside. They prefer playing with their toys indoors. Some even refuse to interact with other children and prefer staying alone with their toys. This will detriment their health and overall well-being. For instance, there has been a rise in social concerns among children wherein they are unable to communicate with others and require counselling to overcome this. To conclude, there are numerous advantages of toys for enabling children’s learning and acquiring useful skills. However, if the kids spend too much time with their toys or if they have too many toys, they will become introverts with poor social skills.