Nowadays an ordinary person can become popular through the Internet and TV media. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

In the modern world, it is possible for a regular person to become famous online or through TV. This situation has some benefits, but it also has some strong negative effects, which I believe are more serious than the positive ones. One of the main benefits is that fame can bring a lot of wealth. Many online celebrities earn millions of dollars through advertising online because so many people watch their channel. For example, Pewdiepie – a vlogger who records himself playing video games – gets millions of views for his videos and is now rich, even though he started as just a normal guy with a webcam, a microphone, and an internet connection. Similarly, on TV there are talent shows, such as America’s Got Talent or American Idol, where typical people can come and show off their skills and maybe become famous. On the other hand, being well known online or on TV can be extremely negative. Because almost everyone has access to the internet, popular videos or other content can be spread very quickly and this can hurt a normal person who was not looking for fame. For example, someone might make a small joke on Twitter, but if enough people are offended by it, some people might start trying to find the person who made the joke and cause them problems in real life. Overall, I think it is a great thing that modern media gives people more chances to succeed. However, it also leads to a situation where people can have their lives ruined over a small matter, and this is a bigger problem