Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for a child having a large number of toys?

In order to nurture a child’s optimum intellectual development, a growing number of parents spend money on purchasing numerous toys for their children. While some people believe that this is beneficial to children, there are some drawbacks worth considering. This essay will discuss the pros and cons for children having lots of playthings or toys. With regards to the kind and quantity of toys that the parents are providing, there are several reasons why it has clear advantages to children. First of all, toys which are providing educational purposes, engaging the child’s senses and those that spark their imaginations are the best toys for children. For instance, Lego blocks can help preschoolers learn letters, numbers and shapes and enhance hand-eye coordination and body balance. For older ones, scrabbles can enhance vocabulary, idea and word generation processing. However, regardless of the quantity, as long as these types of toys are given, children can be assured benefiting from it. On the other hand, I believe that it can be confusing to have various kinds of toys with different types as these can have an adverse effect on the learning development of children such as distraction from their studies and other activities. According to an official survey, children aged 8 to 16, who was given a huge number of toys were much less inclined in their studies than those who were provided by few toys. Moreover, other negative effects such as dullness and restlessness can be observed from this situation as children can easily be fed up and exhausted with having so much choice. As a conclusion, weighing up the both sides of the argument, the kind and quantity of toys being provided to children will significantly affect their focus on their studies. With having right guidance and restriction from parents, children can have better and positive learning experiences throughout their childhood.