Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and the disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Some parents purchase many toys for their kids to please and entertain them. Although These toys might teach children different useful skills, there are also drawbacks to be considered. Firstly, a major advantage is that these toys help to develop the child’s cognitive abilities. This is because a parent can introduce different colors and shapes that the kid is interacting with for the first time through these toys. Moreover, the child can use Legos to construct buildings or cars which will encourage the child to be more creative. Secondly, Parents can use these toys to keep their children quiet and engaged. That time they can use to relax and rest or to do the chores while their kid is fully occupied with the toys. On the other hand, one problem of having many toys is that children might not spend enough time playing with their peers. In other words, the child could choose to play with toys all day and refuse to go out to interact with other kids, which has dire consequences. This will affect the social skills of children who do that and they will find it difficult to have effective communication skills when they become adults. Another issue is that these toys may be hazardous. The reason for that is that children like to taste everything around them and these toys might be coated in unhealthy or even dangerous chemicals. Furthermore, some toys have sharp edges which might injure unaware children. In conclusion, while children can develop their minds by playing with toys, parents should pay attention to the type of toys they buy to their kids and to the amount of time their kids spend with these toys.