Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Constant evolution of modern working culture and environment has initiated various arguments, like some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. On the other hand, others value quality of work above appearance. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my support for the latter view. Firstly, while working in professional environment some organisations expect their employees to be well-dressed. Though, dressing tidy can make a person appear more presentable and professional, but it should not be a mandatory practice. For example, wearing a white cloak to office in Dubai is considered elegant, but it will appear inappropriate in another part of the globe. In this multicultural environment, people can wear regional professional attire to office, the organisation can differ from it which can hurt their sentiments and deplete their performance. To illustrate it further, car market leader Maruti made the dress compulsory in 1988, it initiated distress among workers, eventually causing a 30-day strike leading to huge losses. First and foremost, evolution of technology had reduced the physical human interaction. Presently, conducting meetings, discussions, briefings can be done from anywhere which makes being well dressed insignificant. What should be most valued is the talent, skills and quality of work by an individual. For example, Founder of Facebook, Mr. Mark Zuckerberg is known for development in social networking technology, not for what he wears every day at office. Employees should be valued for their interpersonal skills, practical knowledge, contribution towards the organisational goal. For instance, former president of India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam was an average dressing person but he is remembered for his contribution towards missile technology. In conclusion, whereas many will argue that being well dressed can make employees look more presentable and professional but as discussed above it can lead to distress among them. In my view, quality of work over appearance is always principal and it should always be valued above someone’s attire.