As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is true that in many nations, the quality of life has been considerably improved, therefore, there is a huge number of people buying and using them on a regular basis. While I accept that cars bring several benefits to users, I strongly believe that they influenced adversely and negatively to the environment. On the one hand, it is undeniable that individuals' life has become easier since the introduction of automobiles. To be more specific, nowadays, cars have been the most popular means of transport among citizens in a country, as they are comfortable and less time-consuming in moving to different places. As a result, people can easily reach their particular destination in a short time by means of its fast mobility. Moreover, inside this kind of vehicle, there are many modern facilities which can satisfy users and significantly contribute to a journey. In fact, its seats are big and large enough to contain 5-6 people. It also has radio, which is able to allow drivers to get access to news or music while moving on the street, and air-conditioning, to offer fresh air, regardless of sunny weather, especially in the summer. However, despite the aforementioned advantages, I would argue that the potential effects of such transport on the environment is worth taking notice of. Firstly, an increase in the purchase and usage of cars means more traffic congestion in the long run. As there is a large amount of automobiles moving on the road, the quantity of exhaust fumes and harmful gases, such as carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and benzene, is like; y to damage living organisms and the environment. Secondly, this tendency also leads to the ever-increasing exploitation of natural fuel for petrol and oil, thus causing environmental degradation on account of burning excessive amounts of fossil fuels, gasoline and diesel, for instance. Finally, car pollutants, like nitrous oxide, can deplete the quality of natural resources such as water, soil or air. In conclusion, it appears to me that the negative influences of automobiles on the environment and living creatures have outweigh its advantages in the long term.