Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

With this, I am totally in favor that there should be a charge levied for the entry to such places and can justify the same with numerous reasons. To begin with, I would like to say that anything which comes for free does not have much value. If the entry is made free no one would understand the importance of such places. Moreover, people would then visit such places just for pastime and the core reason of opening such places will not be met. I remember in 2009, entry to Kolkata museum was made free for a month and the museum almost turned into a park because people started visiting the museum and made it a place to loiter around. Consequently, the government had to start charging the entry fees again. Not only that, entry to such places brings a lot of revenue to Government which is used for their maintenance. If this revenue is stopped, Government will have to start financing for the same which otherwise could have been used elsewhere. According to a report published by the finance ministry in India in 2010, an amount of 20 million was spent on the repair of Nehru Museum where entry was free. To sum up, I would say that these places should be given special care and their importance needs to be intact. With this, putting an end to entry fees to such places is not a good idea. No one would value diamonds if they were as easily available as stones. These places are no less than diamonds for the country.