Some people think that the best wat to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative wats or reducing crime.

A society where we live in always demand ideal lives without any sort of crime or ill habits involved. Individuals involved in any kind of crime are not accepted by us as a community. Firstly, many of us wants the criminals to be handled in the most harsh way like longer prison sentences with the main thing in mind that criminals cannot be changed and should be separated from the society. While others are against it, they think that the no one is involved in such crimes by intensions, there are always certain circumstances which allow them to commit such. I will try to discuss both these points in the latter part of the essay. Crimes are majorly categorised by their means of affecting the society that how severe the crime is. Prison sentences are always recommended for crimes which are in no sense involved in the betterment of society and in fact are dangerous for the existence of human life. Crimes such as rape, murder are the ones which are considered to be treated as the most disturbing and the elements involved should be separated from the society, because they are not going to change and therefore, could not be excused in any way. While other small crimes like robbery, burglary are treated as minor crimes and the punishments are accordingly. Various crimes where children are involved should be treated with utmost care because they can hamper their future and maybe the crimes are committed without any criminal intentions rather than treating them in a bad way. In most of the foreign countries such minor crimes are treated with this full caution like giving punishments which can benefit the society, especially involved in helping aged or children by giving them services in old age homes and orphanages. To sum up, I would say that, In my opinion, society should treat each crime with its severity and always try to do something which is beneficial not only for one or two sections of the society, but the society as a whole. Apart from longer punishments there are many ways a crime can be handled that we need to explore and followed.