Some fast food restaurants and supermarkets support the school in order to promote their products. Is it positive or negative development for school and students?

Learning history is important because it helps us understand not only the present world but also avoid committing the mistakes of the past generations. I believe both local and world history are equally important. While local history enables children to learn about regional culture and politics, world history allows them to understand how global events shape their region. Local history is the history of one’s own ancestors living in the same geographical area. It helps children connect with the past and learn about the innumerable sacrifices the past generations made to create a vibrant present. For instance, Punjab’s history teaches Sikh children how their gurus made sacrifices to protect the residents from religious persecution of the Mughal government. Similarly, the local history of Mohanjodaro and Harappa civilizations teaches students how the forces of nature, if disturbed, can destroy human civilizations. It also teaches them about regional geography, culture, and religious identities. The world history complements the local history in helping a student understand the world. Undoubtedly, the present world is a product of the past, and future generations should avoid the mistakes of the past generations to create a sustainable ecosystem. For instance, understanding the reasons behind world wars and genocides helps students appreciate the need for an inclusive and consensus based approach to solving problems. Moreover, understanding past global events in other countries helps students understand the present problems in their locality. For example, the Great Depression of the 1930s and global financial crisis of 2008 had similar causes. Understanding these two financial events, separated by more than seven decades, will help students prevent future financial catastrophes. In conclusion, both global history and local history are important in shaping students’ understanding of the modern world. They are equally necessary for understanding the society and politics of a region along with preventing any future calamity.