Some experts believe that it is better for children to start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s World, also known as global village, civilizations have merged together and growing trend of multiculturalism has urged the need to have command over various foreign languages. Some linguistics experts think that kids should start being taught a second language as early as primary school instead of secondary school. I believe that there are more pros than cons as far as this very notion is concerned. First of all, the experts who believe that a second language should be taught to the kids at very young age, support their argument by the research, showing that young children have better ability to learn any new language as compared to the elders. For instance, if we ponder about children around us, how did they learn the language their parents and siblings spoke around them? Nobody made any effort to make them learn their mother tongue while on the contrary, when adults decide to learn a new language they really have to make a huge effort and it takes years and years to adopt the accent. Hence it can be concluded that it requires less effort to teach a secondary language to students of young ages compared to the elder ages. Moreover, people really feel that young children have the luxury at their hand of not being worried about their grades and they can focus on learning a new language. Let’s take an example of a student of 10th who has his admission at stake. If he scores well enough, he will get enrolled in the college and course of his choice otherwise he would be forced to study a course against his will. Such students cannot afford to lose their focus from their studies to concentrate on adopting a new language. On the other hand, where there are pros there are some cons as well of learning a different language at very young age. Young students at primary school, enrolled in a foreign language have to rely heavily on their teacher since they have limited excess and sensibility of the internet. Since, learning a new language requires lots of practice and if, this practice is done with the native speakers, that brings more fruitful results. At very young age, children cannot be allowed to be friends with strangers on the internet to practice their language skills, limiting their chances to improve. To recapitulate, keeping all the aforementioned arguments, we can reach the logical conclusion that there are not many known disadvantages of learning a new language at young age so, advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages in the very notion.