Employers sometimes ask people applying for the job for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree.

Increasing competition among companies has left a little margin for error, urging them to invest huge amount of money in human resource department to higher the most suitable candidates to job. In order to do that some companies acquire information related to the personal life of potential employees, such as their area of interest, hobbies and marital status. Some people think that this information is suitable and helpful while others think otherwise. I tend to discuss both school of thoughts and share my opinion. In the first place, people who hail from the first school of thought believe that a candidate’s personal organizational skills reflect on his professional life as well. For instance, a persona having constructive hobbies and positive interests would develop an optimistic approach in every aspect of life. This can be further explained by the example of a person, playing cricket as a hobby would have much better inter-personal skills compared to someone who consumes his spare time in playing video games. This information is quite helpful for recruiters to assign a particular role to the suitable candidate. Furthermore, marital status of a person provides very vital information at times to the employers. An individual leading a successful married life shows the ability of emotional stability and would be best suitable for the roles requiring mature minded personnel. Seeking such information makes life of human resource people much easier. On the flip-side of it, people who advocate the thought that asking for personal information does not help the cause often support their argument with the idea, that having in-depth details of professional and academic achievements available, of a potential employee, should be sufficient to decide the suitability of the candidates with the vacant position. So, employers need not to be concerned about what their employees do in their personal time? As far as my personal opinion is concerned, I strongly believe that seeking the personal information helps the recruiters to streamline their search for a most appropriate candidate for the particular vacant position they have.