Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries children are taught a foreign language at secondary school. But some educationalists condsider that it is more effective for pupil to start learning a non-native language at primary school. Although educating a second language at the first year of the school might have some negative impacts on children, the benefits of this trend prevail over its drawbacks. On the one hand, it is acceptable that teaching a foregin language at primary school may have some disadvantages. First of all, small aged children are more curious to play games rather than study hard. So, if you separate the kids from their favourite activities and compel them to learn a new language, they will be depressed and discouraged to study at all. Secondly, at primary schools children are usually taught simple subjects, such as reading and writing in their mother tongue and basic math skills. Adding another subject to their schedule may create unnecessary pressure and confuse them. For example, a five-year-old child, having not learned his own language perfectly yet, will feel himself in an obstacle situation, while learning new words and phrases. On the other hand, the benefits of learning a second language at elementary school outweigh its disadvantages. Proponents of this thought claim that, the curriculum of primary school is easier than that for secondary school, and children are not overloaded with other subjects, like geography or physics. In this case, they have more flexible time to learn at least some basic words of a new language. Furethemore, younger children are less shy than teenagers, and they tend to copy everything they see or hear. For instance, while watching cartoons or hearing texts in any language, they try to imitate the actions or speech of the characters. As a result, by just picking up some words and phrases they start to create simple sentences in a non-native language and talk without any hesitation. In conclusion, to begin learning a foreign language at primary school is very advantageous for young children, and the possible drawbacks of this lag behind its benefits.