Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, it is essential to be capable of communicating in a foreign language. Some parents have the idea that their children should be educated with a second-language in elementary school, while others think that secondary school is a more suitable environment to develop this skill. In my view, both cases have their own benefits. On the one hand, it is more effective for children at young ages to learn a foreign language. Students in primary school have a lighter workload, not being assigned a great deal of homework. Therefore, they have more time dedicated to learning a second language. In this way, a strong foundation is built which helps them use the language effectively and accurately is built at a young age. This brings a host of future benefits. This is particularly true of Do Nhat Nam, who has exposure to English during elementary school. Due to his early English education, he achieved an 8. 0 in IELTS during secondary school and then earned a scholarship to study abroad. Compared to others who do not start learning a foreign language as a child, they tend to struggle to communicate in that language and miss out on many opportunities. On the other hand, there are several reasons for children to begin studying an additional language during secondary school. In their early stages of growth, children should join in outdoor activities to have full physical and mental development, rather than studying. In this way, they tend to be more clever and energetic when attending secondary school, which helps enhance their acquisitiveness in languages. Another reason is that the fees of foreign-language courses in some developing countries are not affordable to some parents. Moreover, children are more able to deeply understand languages when they are older. Therefore, it is more economically efficient for parents to have their child study a foreign language a little bit later. In brief, it is always beneficial for children to study a foreign language whenever they are in primary or secondary school. From my perspective, I believe that children should start learning it as soon as possible.