Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill.

The educational aspects of the student's whole academic life are being widely discussed nowadays. While some individuals believe the teaching institutions should focus their courses on learning theoretical facts, others think that practical skills should be prioritized. In this essay, I'm going to explain why I strongly believe that learning theory is even more important than practicing. One advantage of learning theory is that it is a prerequisite for having success performing many activities. This is due to the reason that without properly knowledge of a subject, it is not possible to understand how it works and consequently, make it works. To illustrate, imagine how dangerous would be a chemistry class where students are mixing different components without knowing exactly what they are and how they behave together. This could even cause an accident. Additionally, learning practical skills can be a very difficult task, depending on the subject. This happens because some activities are complex, requiring this way huge efforts to be dominated. If it is not the person's interest, it will probably give up before learning it. For instance, students in an arts class have different natural gifts and interests. It would be unfair to have all of them learning how to wood carving. However, the theory of it could be easily taught for everybody. To sum up, the importance of the theoretical knowledge and the complexity of doing several activities clearly makes me think that all schools and universities should keep the knowledge of the books in first place, before thinking about teaching its students practical skills.