Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this new era, globalization is a massive concern of the society and children are born destined to become ‘globalized civilians’ in the future. Therefore, learning a foreign language is considered the top priority and some specialists claim that the approach to a new external language at primary school is superior to that at secondary school. From my perspective, the benefits of this practice outweigh the drawbacks as I will show then. At a young age, children have a proclivity towards imitating the pronunciation and the way of speaking from everyone around. Moreover, the golden key to be successful in learning a new language is the ability to mimic the native, which proves that children have an advantage over the older generation. Secondly, in order to stimulate children’s curiosity and inquisitiveness, which are the main factors to the victory of studying an external language, every junior school should include the international-language-subject into the general curricula as soon as possible. From the merits of learning a new language, the young learners will have the opportunity to assimilate into the world faster and approach with various different cultures at an early age; since then, they will be able to broaden their mind, enrich their knowledge and adapt to the trending globalization. For instance, science has proved that children encountering a new international language early have the capability of perceiving and processing information effortlessly. In contrast, the potential risk of primary pupils learning a new language may be a burden of responsibility and pressure on family, school and the children themselves. The very young students when initiating learning a new language have to undergo a great deal of struggles as they are too young to conform themselves to a different and brand new knowledge. Besides, the more subjects they learn, the less time they can spend on other outdoor and social activities; so that their childhood will adversely be filled with ‘studying memories’. To recapitulate, school in conjunction with parents should instruct children to manage to balance the studying of both national and international language effectively so the results received will be satisfactory.