Some people think governments should spend more money on providing faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on important priorities for public transport (e. g. cost, environment).

People have different views regarding how governments should allocate their budgets for public transport. While many people think that more money should be spent on reducing the cost and protecting the environment, I would argue that it is best to offer high-speed modes of transport. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some people favor the idea of having less expensive, environmentally friendly means of public transport. Firstly, when fares are reduced, more people may be encouraged to use trains or buses instead of their private vehicles. This might lead to traffic jams in metropolises being mitigated. Secondly, since many countries have struggled to combat air pollution, it seems reasonable to make public transport more eco-friendly. This could be done by improving technology that helps create fuel-efficient forms of public transport which release less gas emissions into the atmosphere. However, government funding would be better spent on providing faster means of public transport. The principal reason why many people shy away from buses or trains is that they are fairly slow. If this problem is solved, these means of transport may attract more people and become the option of their choice. Furthermore, the attempt to reduce the cost of public transport or make it more environment-friendly is rather irrelevant. This is because the fare is already affordable for everyone, generally, compared to other types of transport, and by using public transport, people have already made a great contribution to environmental protection. In conclusion, although some people believe lowering the cost and making public transport more eco-friendly is a good decision, I believe that people would benefit the most from faster modes of public transport.