Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

As commonly seen in the most parts of the world today, the trend among children, especially those in kindergartens or in elementary schools, learning English or a second language is on the rise. Some people believe that it is a good thing, while others claim that it will be an extra burden for them in such an early age and the learning of a second language should be started at the secondary level. In my opinion, this trend, on the whole, brings more advantages than disadvantages. I will analyse both sides of the arguments before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. On the one hand, the supporters of this trend emphasis on the adaptability and quick learning abilities of juveniles. This is to say, children have a higher capability of learning new languages as compared to elders. For example, according to a recent research conducted by UNICEF, learning pace of children is 40% much faster in their early age rather when they are young. Hence, it is certainly a welcoming effort to teach them a second language at an early age. On the other hand, the syndicates who refute this idea show their concerns that toddlers are usually highly occupied with their academic syllabus. Therefore, to get them learning a new language will inevitably put an additional burden beside their studies. For instance, it can be clearly seen that children who bear the extra pressure of studies eventually get affected by health related issues. Thus, we should not neglect the element of health’s hazards in any learning process. To summarise, by analysing both sides of the view, it is clear that both sides present solid evidence. However, I strongly believe that learning English at an early age is undeniably more favourable in terms of adaptable and flexible nature of children. Therefore, advantages of learning a second language in kindergarten outweigh its disadvantages.