The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task.

While some people argue that the decision about what subjects are taught at school should be decided by teachers. I believe that it is rather governments’ responsibility to decide. There are many reasons why the decision of school subjects should be taken by central authorities. Firstly, governments have a better idea about the society and the economic needs of the people. Their knowledge is built upon studies, research and experiences gathered by experts from different fields. For example, in Sudan, the school curriculum has been changed to a new one since the year 2000. To involve more subjects that teach students practical skills such as farming,   as a measurement to tackle the unemployment problem in the country. Secondly, teachers should be more concerned about how to deliver the information. They decide when and how to teach several subjects based on their experience about children’s capabilities. In other words, teachers are more experienced in teaching than in social or economic issues. On the other hand, the authorities’ role is to ensure the best quality of schooling throughout the country. They compare different schools to know their needs of education resources in order to reach the aimed level of education. However, it would be difficult to identify those needs if each school has its own curriculum for its unique requirements. In addition, if school teachers decide what are the subjects to be covered then we would have a situation of too much variation in standards and qualification, which is obviously unfair, because some young children, for instance, would receive a better education than others as a result of this and in turn people might lose their faith in the education system in the country. In conclusion, it seems to me that both governments and teachers have their distinctive role in education. However, it would more beneficial for the society if governments are kept to be responsible for setting schools’ curriculum.