The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task.

In most of the countries, the academic curriculums are decided by a board of people who mostly come from higher positions of education board and from other ministry or cabinet. They review the subjects taught in schools and do necessary modification and amendment. Some people opine that this responsibility should be given to the teachers who have better teaching experience and closely understand the students who study those subjects. I personally believe that politicians who have no previous teaching or educational institute related experience should not be included on this review board. Rather teachers with good experience and qualified persons from the education ministry, who came from the educational background, should decide this important agenda. First of all, if politicians, who have no teaching experience and have little knowledge about the students, are included on this board, that would negatively impact the overall syllabus. Their primary motive would be to add topics and subjects that somehow politically help them. This often includes adding political and controversial topics on subjects like history. Secondly, which subjects should be taught to students in a country has a major influence on the overall education system of a country. If the politicians are to decide this utmost important issue rather than the subject matter experts, which would be a disaster for the country. No one would accept that some teachers are picked up to decide a change in the election rule and amendment of the necessary constitution of a country. So why do the reverse? Finally, the political persons are experts in their own field. They should not be picked up to decide the subjects that should be taught in schools only because they held some important government positions. If necessary, experts from other countries who have similar experience could be hired to get their opinion on this issue. In conclusion, I totally agree that teachers and people who have experience in teaching and syllabus formation should be included in the committee to decide what subjects should be taught in schools. Relying on the politicians is the worst idea in my opinion.