Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

It is true that foreign languages should be taught at the primary school level for the betterment of children. I strongly believe that it has more advantages than the disadvantages. There are several advantages of studying a foreign language from primary level. First and foremost, during this period, children are more flexible and they can grasp any language very easily. But, if they try to learn in their secondary level, they cannot follow rules and regulations of other languages easily due to the greater influence of mother language. Next, naturally, children are more curious and eager to learn new things in their tender age. Therefore, proficiency and fluency in new or unfamiliar language can be achieved at primary school which would help them enormously in the long run. Lastly, excellence in foreign languages is greatly beneficial for professional development as well as financial betterment. Since a long time is needed for acquiring deep knowledge in every language, every child has to start learning a second language as early as possible, otherwise, their future will not be safe. However, there are certain drawbacks that cannot be avoided if a child starts learning a foreign language in the very early stage. Firstly, they cannot understand the real meaning of many aspects of the language as they are not mature enough. Moreover, they sometimes do not take the language learning seriously. As a result, the importance of that language will be reduced in their mind, which would cause many detrimental effects. Furthermore, sometimes, children show disrespect and lack of interest towards foreign language because of the increased workload in schools. As a consequence, they may develop a negative attitude in learning, especially towards language learning. To conclude, despite certain disadvantages, a vast amount of benefits should be considered by society and individuals while deciding whether their school going children should learn a foreign language or not.