Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Scholars have recently debated an issue of whether or not a foreign language should be taught in elementary school instead of higher level. There are, certainly, some consequences of teaching foreign language in primary school, both positive and negative results. These points of views will be elaborated through the following paragraphs. To begin with, scholars believe that understanding a foreign language in elementary school may contribute a more incredible communication skill of pupil in the future regarding their ability to catch up insight is incredibly fascinating during this period. This phenomenon is related to a fact that elementary school period is considered as “golden period” of pupils since their brain cells grow remarkably connecting one cell another in the whole brain hemisphere. Indonesian pupils, who learn English while they are in primary schools, for example, can speak English more fluently than those who do not get the same treatment at the same level. Despite, the gain, there can be a lack stumbling learning an international language in elementary schools. Teachers’ ability is the real example. Most of the teachers in primary schools are generalists and get used to deal with more general subjects in school. By asking them to teach foreign languages, English, for example, may be a difficulty in conveying knowledge over that such specific subject to students. And therefore, when entering higher level school, there will be a wide variety of students understanding in English and will lead to a problem of adjusting what particular topics should be given to students in the higher level. All in all, understanding foreign speaking in primary school can be achieved through maximising the golden period of students. However, the capability of teachers also must be considered in order to ensure the subject distributed well to students.