Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

In our modern society, the question whether the children should start to learn a foreign language at the primary school has been widely discussed. A fair portion of people believes that studying a new foreign language at primary school is better than secondary school for children, while others hold the opposite point of view. As for me, I side with the first one. On the one hand, children at a young age are fast learners. The recent research published an education centre, indicates that children can master different languages as many as five. For some kids in China, they can even start three different languages, such English, French and German together when they are six years old. Apparently, young children have more ability to learn foreign languages. In this case, as the first study institution, primary school should offer the class of the foreign language studying for children. On the other hand, more subjects open in secondary school is the other main reason that a second language study should be started at a young age. Children start to learn some new subjects, such as Chemistry, Biology and History. The more classes they have, the more homework they need to do after school. Obviously, they would spend a little time on a foreign language. There is no doubt that it takes time to master a foreign language, especially the pronunciation. If they spend enough time on practising their speaking ability, how could we expect Chinese children speak fluent English? Therefore, children should learn a foreign language at primary school, instead of secondary school. In conclusion, in order to learn a foreign language, it is better to start it at the primary school rather than the secondary school for children.