Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

it is often believed by many professionals that learning an overseas language is best for children at elementary school rather than secondary school. In my opinion, I think that studying a foreign language at the beginning of primary school can bring more benefits to the youngster and it's advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Learning a foreign language at the elementary level has a number of key advantages. First of all, introducing a new language early helps the kid gain a higher level of proficiency in it, thus, in the near future, it makes him more confident in using the language. Furthermore, studying an additional language enhances the child's psychological skills and studies have shown that multilingual people are smarter than monolingual people. For example, Albert Einstein spoke 5 different languages from a young age and he has undoubtedly one of the greatest minds on the earth. In addition to that, students at the elementary level are so young and they are free from other responsibilities. As a result, they do not get much stress from family related works and pressures, therefore, I think learning a foreign language at primary school is better than secondary. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when children learning multiple languages in primary school. One clear disadvantage is that the child may confuse with a native foreign tongue. As a result, they may take a longer time to achieve fluency in their mother tongue. Another negative aspect of adding a new language to the primary school curriculum is that it puts extra pressure on children mentality because they already have a variety of subjects to learn and introducing a new language can make the syllabus even heavier. In conclusion, although there are drawbacks to introducing additional language in elementary school, it is clear that educating children to be multilingual from an early age promotes better language skills and higher IQ. On balance I would say that parents and teacher need to ensure that the new language does not become a burden for the kids.