In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Nowadays the concept of family has extremely changed compared to the past as well as the roles in a family. The prototype of the common family, we were used to think about does not exist anymore and there are different kinds of family since modern times needed an evolution of society. Families are not composed by a woman and a man with children anymore, but also homosexual couples are considered a family as well as blended families, for example. Overall, I personally believe that most of the changes occurring are positive and they are the mirror of modern society. In the past, usually only men were used to work, while many women were housewives taking care of their home and babies, but nowadays everything changed and both men and women can have a successful career and be husband and wife at the same time. However, these changes lead to re-set up the roles in the family. Thus, it is not the woman’s duty anymore to work at home, but it is now a family duty. This is an important achievement for women’s rights, I believe. As roles, also the structure of a family evolved and the introduction of divorce, which led to the increase of blended families as well as the gay marriage contributed on it. It has also to be considered the practice of adoption as a significant change in a family, which contributed to expand the ancient meaning of family. To sum up, it is clear that, in recent years, the family structure and roles have changed and adapted to modern times, which contributed to open people’s mind to different views of family life.