Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Learning a different language becomes a must for children nowadays. Experts focus on when children should start learning it. Some of them suggest learning a foreign language from elementary school but some prefer to start from junior high school. For me, I agree children should learn a new language earlier. Experts who support children to learn a foreign language from secondary school think children have to learn their first language better to keep their culture. Also, they think a junior high school student is mature enough to learn a new language well. For example, for Chinese, there are lots of poetry written only by mandarin. This is part of traditional culture. However, I think that when children study a new language, they can learn the traditional culture at the same time. Moreover, children can learn about different cultures from different languages and become a better person. For example, In western countries, the relationship between parents and children is getting along as a friend. By contrast, in Asian families, parents and children treat each other with more respect and politeness. Thus, starting to learn a foreign language at a younger age can provide an opportunity for children to get to know and think from a different perspective. On the other hand, some experts suggest children learn a foreign language at primary school, they think if children learn it at an early age, they will learn it more effectively because a human’s memory was better at that time. Also, an elementary student can learn English by games, which means he or she does not have the huge stress of preparing an exam to enter high school. For example, from my experience, I started to learn English when I was 5 years old. During that time, learning English is really natural and spontaneous for me. Teachers played games with us in English. I do not even remember how I learned my first sentence. It is just the same as I learned my native language. And after I had a basic understanding of English, I had an interest in learning it as well. For me, it is just a tool to read more books and play more games, without stress. In conclusion, due to my experience, I think the benefits of children learning a foreign language from primary school overweigh the shortages. They can not only learn a new language in an easier way with interest, but also learn different cultures and integrate them to make themselves better.