Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services.

The internet has transformed each and every aspect of our lives. A part of society have an opinion that the internet service must be considered as a basic right of people and thus, it must be a free service by the government while others disagree with that opinion. This essay will discuss both viewpoints, followed by a conclusion. On the one hand, the internet has become a vital part of today's world by influencing it in multifarious ways. Without having the internet access, it is extremely complex for individuals to manage their official work, e-learning, banking and utility payments. For instance, many youngsters enroll in online certification courses offered by various prominent universities around the world, including Harvard University. Therefore, having a high-speed internet is counted as a basic necessity in this modern world to control their lives as well as work. Many nations have implemented internet banking to become a cashless economy and thus, people must be required to have access to the web in order to carry out banking process. Due to these reasons, it is evident that the government has to consider the options to provide this great innovative technology to their citizens for free of cost. Nonetheless, other section of people, including me hold the opinion that the internet must be maintained as a paid service. They argue that only affluent and educated people have been using the internet and a major part of society are still ignorant about the usage of web services. As per a recent survey conducted by Technology Today, more than 40% of the common people in rural areas of African continent are unaware about the Internet technology. Because of this, the government fund should be utilized for the betterment of people by providing them food and basic necessities rather than spending public fund on something which is only beneficial to the wealthy society. Furthermore, if the internet is offered for free, it would be an opportunity for public to misuse it in various notorious ways. To conclude, nobody can deny the importance of the Internet in today's world. However, a major part of world population are not knowledgable and accessible to this cutting-edge technology. Thus, I believe that government should continue to offer the Internet as a paid service and should divert the public fund for meeting the basic requirements of common citizens.