some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's modern world, language plays an indispensable role in both studies and jobs as well as during socialising. Thus, instead of studying language at secondary school, some professionals encourage children to start learning a foreign language at primary school. Although this proposal has some drawbacks, I would argue that there are more benefits. On the one hand, I believe that the advantages of learning a new language at primary school are more significant. Firstly, children at a young age are fast learners. As their brains are still programmed to acquire their mother tongue, which facilitates learning another language. Secondly, introducing a foreign language earlier enables the children to get accustomed to using it. It is acknowledged that children at this stage pick up languages with less selfconscious compared to adolescents at secondary school. Rather than studying a language, they tend to subconsciously imitate what the speaker says. In this way, children are more likely to use the language with more confidence. Finally, elementary schools provide a relaxed language learning environment for children. Generally, the first aim of primary schools is to educate students while entertaining. For example, there may be abundant interesting class activities, such as role play, where children are motivated to learn the foreign language under a pleasant atmosphere, stimulating children’s interest of studying the new language. On the other hand, there may be some disadvantages. For one thing, it could be a waste of time since pupils need to focus on core subjects, especially math, science, and their own mother tongue language, which are considered to be more essential than a foreign language. For another, children may get confused because of learning native and foreign languages simultaneously. Specifically, it is claimed that bilingual children develop the ability to talk more slowly than monolingual kids. As a result, it could have a negative impact on their language development. Nevertheless, as long as schools establish a scientific and reasonable teaching pedagogy, such limitations mentioned above can be ameliorated. In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of learning a foreign language at earlier age do outweigh the drawbacks.