Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Contemporarily, schools gradually realize the importance of quality education. Some people therefore suggest that it is necessary to take unrewarded community activities as a compulsory part of high school. Personally, I do not agree that we should force all teenagers to do unpaid work. Admittedly, it is also true that participating in community service may be beneficial for both students themselves and society as a whole. In terms of an individual perspective, doing community service can develop life skills. For instance, teaching pupils how to play football can facilitate students’ patience and communication skills, which are two of the most valuable qualities for their life. From a social of point of view, students can form a strong bond with community through engaging in volunteer work. This is because students may establish a special relationship with population being served, cultivating a sense of accomplishment and increasing social awareness and responsibility. Nevertheless, the merits discussed above may diminish because of compulsory requirement. Personally, I hold the view that students should not be compelled to involve in unpaid work to help the local community. The primary reason is that most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies. School is just as demanding as a full-time job, and teachers expect their students to do homework and exam revision on top of attending lessons every day. Too much unwilling volunteered work may impose physical stress on students, leading to pessimistic attitude towards community affairs. Moreover, society has nothing to gain from obliging young people to do unpaid work. In fact, it goes against the values of a free and fair society to force a group of people to do something against their will. Doing this can only culminate in resentment amongst young people, who would feel that they were being used. In conclusion, although community service may bring some advantages, I personally recommend that schools should not make this compulsory.