Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The quest for learning an international language has increased. Certain people think that it is better taught in Elementary School than Secondary. On the one hand, there are several reasons why teaching children new language is preferred to the adolescent. Firstly, They have different methods of learning which can help the understanding of these pupils. Most of their lessons are composed as songs and rhymes, video clips are played showing different characters in a story, some are even demonstrated by one or two teachers. This ways helps them learn faster. Secondly, their minds are void of worries such as, what to wear, how to feed or where to go. Their minds are focused on what is taught at present, creating room not only for quick understanding, to recall also. It is often said that with a clear mind, information is easily retained. On the other hand, one of the drawbacks to early learning is that they are only taught the basics. It is sometimes difficult for them to remember large volume of work done. In addition, they are unable to copy notes given by their teacher. Though many at times, printed works are attached to some passages on their notebooks but it cannot be compared to a student writing his/her note. In 2006, a research carried out by one of the English Language professors from University of Port-Harcourt proved that students who copy notes are at advantage than those who make copies using electronic devices because writing a sentence or phrase more than once enables you to memorize it. Furthermore, the older students create time to study with their classmates. Studying in groups has been seen to increase understanding of learners as well as being clarified. In conclusion, although kindergarteners learn faster, I believe the demerits hold a stronger viewpoints as they concentrate on the preliminaries alone as well as lack of writing skill.