The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the present world, there is a tremendous growth for consumer goods due to high population demand. Some people think that this trend will cause a harm to the environment. I also think that this increased production may result in the environment degradation. Most of the products have a plastic package as it is durable and unaffected by any external factors like bacteria, moisture et cetera. In addition, to reduce the cost of packing, many companies may opt for cheap and harmful plastic and distribution of such packages will result in huge plastic waste. So there is a high risk of plastic pollution as it is non- biodegradable and destroyer of many living organisms in the soil. Burning of such plastic will cause air pollution and severe health issues like asthma to people. Transportation of goods in big quantity to all over the world can be linked with massive vehicle usage. The amount of pollutants released into the atmosphere will be high and might lead to some dangerous phenomenon like acid rain, climate change, smog and deterioration of building materials. A lot of people are trying to reduce this problem by replacing plastic with alternate items or by using quality plastic which can be reused. Recycling of plastic waste instead of disposing it will bring a major change to this situation. Governments should introduce recycling industries and awareness programs to reduce plastic usage. For carrying the commodities, more sustainable and pollution free methods like electric vehicles should be used. People should try to develop a culture to reduce the application of plastic items. To conclude, we should take necessary steps to stop the damage caused by consumer goods to protect our environment.