Some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experiences and personal qualities when they look for an employee. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Some recruiters give more value to a college or university degree than personal attributes and experiences. This essay shall look into the reasons that can be attributed to this phenomenon. In my opinion it is a negative development. It is easy to see why some employers give more stress on a degree than experiences. Undoubtedly, academic qualifications are important because just as clothing is to first impressions, so is a university degree to a first job or a job with a good pay. A degree simply proves that an individual has acquired the necessary academic knowledge of how to carry out a job. Having a degree most definitely helps the recruiters in hiring suitable candidates. However, ignoring a person's experiences and skills is not good. Personal skills and life experiences are also as important as good qualifications while recruiting new employees. There are many personal traits such as creativity, adaptability, honesty, integrity, and effort, which are also important. A university degree does not signal whether a person has those traits. A degree does not indicate in any way, how a person will function in the real world. Hands- on skills and practice experience are more important in the present scenario. That is why it is a negative development if employers do not put emphasis on personal traits. Moreover, it has been seen that when recruitment focused largely on candidate's technical skills and expertise, with relatively little attention given to soft skills, then it resulted in hiring employees who had the intellect to succeed but lacked the social skills required to work effectively. This resulted in interpersonal conflict and frustration and sometimes such employees had to leave the job. What is more, such employees were unable to handle the social demand of leadership and so had to remain at lower level jobs. In summary, it is understandable why employers give importance to qualifications. I consider it negative because I believe that personal skills and experience are as important as qualifications.