Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Money and incentive can be considered as one of the key takeaways from a job. For all employees, their idea of a good job always considers good incentives and at the same time, the management always expects good work from their members of staff. Providing a raise in the salary or other monetary benefits always plays to the satisfaction of both the parties involved, as the employer encourages excellence which is one of their requirements and the workforce responds by giving their best in their operation. However, as is the case with a lot of approaches to improve workforce throughput, there are some disadvantages to this approach. Such a pecuniary outlook has the tendency to disorient the workplace as the other employees are susceptible to feel bad about themselves. For example, in a normal workplace, every person has the right to believe that their work plays a big part in the organization's growth. When some people are selected for their efficiency, it might paint a bad picture that specifies that the others are not as efficient as the chosen few. Also, identifying and selecting the people who contribute more to the institution can also backfire when done wrongly. I would say that such money-based incentives should be encouraged only when there is a solid ground in which the people can be judged in. For instance, the number of tickets handled by people in a Customer Service environment is a very good metric to be used here. This number will always be a solid one for each of the individual and the tickets are open for all involved people. In conclusion, I believe that providing monetary benefits can greatly improve and enhance the organization's upscaling but at the same time, the management must ensure that these benefits are not provided for abstract goals which might cause controversy later on.