More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

The problem of obesity stares at our face with more and more children turning out to be overweight from a very young age, especially in prosperous nations. While most people don’t take this as a serious issue until it leads to a medical health condition, it is important to discuss the matter gravely in order to make people aware about the ill-effects which in turn will help avoid obesity. I believe, among other things, the most significant reason for kids gaining a lot of weight is their lifestyle patterns. While being rich is great, it comes with the downside of parents giving enormous pocket money to children, almost like a mechanism to feel less guilty for having busy schedules, where they can’t make time for their kids. Kids on the other hand, splurge on fast food and junk food, binging on burgers and slurping ice creams. The amount of processed food that an average kid ends up eating throughout the day is not funny! For instance, my boss’s child has French fries for breakfast with 3 different types of dips, burgers or fried chicken buckets for lunch – again with a lot of mayonnaise and ketchup and ends his day with a large pizza with more ketchup! His mid-meal snacks include chocolate bars, ice creams, chips and cold drinks. When I was babysitting him for a day, despite making special home-cooked meals that I thought he would enjoy, he ended up ordering food from a fast food joint because he was so used to eating out! As a result of prolonged unhealthy eating habits with no exercise, kids are diagnosed with heart diseases such as diabetes and cholesterol at a surprisingly young age. Although most people switch to a healthier diet after this point, it is too late in the day to reverse the effects. Consequences such as frequent urination, lethargy, feeling tired almost all the time, having to keep a check on sweet consumption etc. are just some of the outcomes of having a heart disease as a result of being overweight. For example, my colleague’s child, an excellent dancer who won quite a few national-level awards for her performances, has now had to give up on pursuing her passion because of the excess weight she has gained over a short period of time. She is no longer able to do the perfect split or even pull through an entire song before collapsing to the ground as if she just ran a marathon. The condition not only affected her physically but also broke her emotionally, shattering her confidence and determination to be the best at what she does. This is especially a problem for wealthy countries where the future of the country - the youngsters are more and more laid back and incapable of driving normal lives. I would like to conclude that children alone are not responsible for being obese. It is the whole family that promotes unhealthy eating habits leading to weight-gain. With little or no exercise, the condition is only going to get worse. Obesity affects both physical and mental well-being of people giving rise to more heart diseases and conditions like anxiety, depression etc. In developed countries, we will soon see entire generations of over weight children inching closer towards an unhealthy, unfulfilling life.