Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion

Nowadays, health plays an indispensable role in human life. While some managers, finance their staffs with the gym and sport club memberships as they believe that this bestowed a myriad of benefits for work, other employers argued that there is no use in doing this. On the one hand, the idea that employers should provide subsidised membership of gyms and sport clubs for their worker is favoured due to several reasons. Firstly, it is clear that the improvement of workers’ physical health may lead to the growth of productivity. Besides, this can help them balance their work life balance. For example, a staff will work more efficiently if they have time to diminish their stress, which is better to compare to those who spend a huge time on working without physical activities. Secondly, by participating in gym and sport centres, ones’ job satisfaction will increase. In order words, employees would perceive themselves more valuable and thus become more attached to their work places. On the other hand, there are several reasons why memberships at gyms would not be beneficial for the company. Firstly, the price paid for being a member of sport centres may be costly which will cut short unnecessarily company’s funding. This means that funding that once allocated for the development of the company will now use for the sake of employees which do not contribute directly to the performance of the company. Furthermore, workers should concentrate on their vital projects to complete the mission given by employers rather than taking an enormous amount of time to play sports. For example, if memberships are given, some employees might lose focus on their job, bringing negative impact to the overall results of the whole company. In conclusion, although supporting the staffs to apply for a gym or sports club is essential, the cons of approving this policy may worth considering.