Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Nowadays, more and more companies have paid attention to the productivity of each individual employee by promoting rewards and incentives in various forms: pay increments, perks, bonuses, . . . One of creative and sincere ways to attain that objective, which is trending and recommended by many experts, is subsidizing healthy pursuits from gyms/sports activities. This essay will weight up the pros and cons of this idea and find the most favourable decision. In the first place, it can be clearly recognised that workers will be more aggressive, optimistic, healthier, which will make them devote their capacity, time, effort effectively and passionately. The main reason is that when people are active, they will experience positive mental emotions thanks to the released toxic substances and motorized muscles; thereby reducing stress and pressure at work. At the same time, they will achieve a balance between life and work when there is time for physical and mental health training. In addition, participants also had the opportunity to make new friends, interact with colleagues or spend time with family; which gives employees a stronger motivation to work. On the contrary, the benefits of membership cards also bring some undue disadvantages such as excessive consumption, ineffective policies or inducing laziness among workers. Despite the free support, workers with heavy workload will have no time to participate or will reluctantly join. Therefore, it is difficult to achieve the desired results, even create waste of consuming company capital. A good case in point is employees will rely on rewards from the company, working just enough to receive gifts and superficial in performance appraisals. In conclusion, in order to seriously implement company’s mechanism, manager need to consider the working situation of the company; from there, making adjustments to the company's economic conditions. Also, the workers should also respond positively to company activities to increase solidarity and working sense.