Missions to explore space are hugely expensive, and there are problems on Earth which demand attention. The number of these missions needs to be reduced.

In developing technology period, there has been a growing concern revolving around the missions about doing research and exploration on outside the earth. Because of the exorbitant of travelling outer-space, from my perspective, I completely acknowledge that we should shift investment and pay more attention on the existing matters of our world by means of declining the number of this kind of discovery. First and foremost, it is undoubtedly recognized that exploring space plays a vital role in our scientific world due to certain reasons. A lot of resources are poured into these missions. Apart from the technology and infrastructure, there is also the issue of manpower such as engineers and doctors. These people who are most likely to be at the top of their respective fields, are recruited for these projects, shifting their attention away from more significant issues affecting mankind. In addition, it leaves room for gaps in learning and innovation in those fields. For instance, the Harvard Research Institute, released a survey which was carried out in 2018, which showed that 70% of its scientists knew one or two people that could give them headway in their current research works but are currently doing space activities. There is no doubt that space projects are a huge investment, but sadly they do not generate revenue, neither do they impact human lives. They only satisfy the curiosity of man to know and experience the galaxies around him. There are capital intensive projects that can use these funds instead, which in the long run will benefit most of humanity, such as poverty eradication and provision of portable drinking water. Furthermore, these resources can be channeled into helping resource- poor countries. For example, NASA, published in 2019, that it spent about 15 billion US dollars on space projects in the past year alone. On the other hand, the Cleveland clinic, also published in 2019, that it would need about 5 billion dollars to provide free medical care to all Americans in 2019. This shows that the money spent on trips to space can be used to better the day to day lives of people, hence it should be curbed. In conclusion, In conclusion, the topic of whether or not missions to outer-space should be reduced due to high cost remains controversial. I strongly agree with the school of though that these activities should be restricted and the funds channeled to solve the major obstacles the planet is currently facing like poverty and food shortages.