Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school.

There is no doubt that education is an important part of everyones life. Many believe that teens in schools can be benefitted through international exchange visits. Even though the international exchange has certain disadvantages, in my opinion, the advantages completely outweigh the drawbacks. This essay is going to discuss both the advantages and disadvantages and support them with relevant examples. Firstly, one disadvantage of an international visit can be that the students need to adjust to a new curriculum. The syllabus and teaching methodology in their country can be different from the nation they are visiting. For example, electronics and communication engineering in India focuses on the electronics aspect more than the programming whereas a similar course in The USA has a balanced approach to both. Furthermore, culture shock can be another problem students can experience. This is because culture varies across countries and the students need to adjust to the new cultures. On the other hand, an international exchange student has the advantage of interacting with students from different countries. This can be helpful because diverse communities bring in their own experiences which can help students to broaden their horizons. For instance, a masters student can work on projects with students from other countries which can help him in understanding their approach to solve a particular problem and use it to further improve his knowledge. Moreover, studying in a foreign land can help students to become more independent, which is not possible at home because parents help them with most of their issues. To conclude, although the disadvantages of cultural shock and change in the curriculum can seem daunting, the advantages of interaction with students from various countries and becoming more independent can help develop a student and in my view, these benefits outweigh the drawbacks.