In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In several nations, the preference of individuals is rapidly reclining towards foreign food rather than grown by the local farmers. While intensive marketing is attracting people to these eatables, local authorities should emphasize their people to understand the consequences of this progress. It cannot be denied that as the population is increasing nutritious food has become a major industry. Even though, most of the nation has ample home grown grains, rice, etc. , their people get trapped into the promotion of numerous foreign organizations and invest their hard earned money in those products. Neither these packed foods have health benefits as local fresh vegetables nor they are cheaper. For example, according to a survey, foreign food market in India has grown by 35% from 2% in the year 2002. Although, India is an agricultural rich country, but their citizens are relying on promotions of companies instead of the government guidelines. There is a host of practices that government can implement to counter this situation, but they should support their farmers in the first place and then work on other measures. If local farmers have the support from authorities, they can increase their share in the food market. Not only this trend will improve the local people wealth, it will also become a milestone to reduce a nation's dependency over foreign agriculture. For instance, USA has provided a 100 % subsidy to their farmers since 1973, this aid made them entirely independent in terms of food and now they are exporting it as well. As a result, prohibiting foreign is not a solution, governments need to develop their markets to attract people to the local food. To conclude, the aforementioned points make it evident that however, people are biased towards brands and opting for foreign nutritions, if authorities back their farmers they can mitigate this attraction.